Slaughter Beach, Dog Announce New Album, Share New Song ‘Float Away’

    Slaughter Beach, Dog have announced their next album, Crying, Laughing, Waving, Smiling, which will arrive on September 22 via Lame-O Records. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Float Away’, which follows the recently shared ‘Strange Weather’. Check it out below.

    “This one is a heartbreak song,” the group’s Jake Ewald explained in a statement about the track. “Thinking someone else is doing it to you and then realizing you’re doing it to yourself. I was listening to a lot of Tom T Hall around this time. Tom has an immediacy to his writing, like you’re dropped into a new small world ride with every song. Taylor Swift does the same thing. They pick up on different emotional cues and respond to them in different ways, but at the end of the day they’re using the same tools, even telling the same stories. It’s a matter of which voice you relate to more. This is me aspiring to do that work in my own voice.”

    “Musically, I love the way this one hums along, thumping and rolling,” Ewald continued. “[Slaughter Beach, Dog members] Zack Robbins, Ian Farmer, Adam Meisterhans and Logan Roth sound like a bonafide rocknroll machine here. I think I heard Elvis Costello say that his gripe with modern rock is that it doesn’t roll anymore. Let this be our formal reply. Many thanks to Erin Rae for lending her voice again, and apologies for saying ‘rolling stone’ in a song.”

    In a press release, Craig Finn of the Hold Steady said of the LP: “There’s beautiful space in everything. It’s patient and aware. I’ve always admired Jake’s eye for detail and it’s on full display here. It’s an album filled with gorgeous imagery and vivid worlds are built within each song. I see it all. Most impressively to me, he consistently finds the divine and sacred in the everyday.”

    Crying, Laughing, Waving, Smiling Cover Artwork:

    Crying, Laughing, Waving, Smiling Tracklist:

    1. Surfin’ New Jersey
    2. Strange Weather
    3. Float Away
    4. My Sister in Jesus Christ
    5. Summer Windows
    6. Bobcat Club
    7. Tommy
    8. Engine
    9. Henry
    10. Easter

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading