Jamila Woods Announces New Album ‘Water Made Us’, Releases New Single

    Jamila Woods has announced a new album, Water Made Us, which will be released October 13 via Jagjaguwar. Leading the follow-up to 2019’s Legacy! Legacy! is ‘Tiny Garden’, which features duendita and was produced with Wynne Bennet. Check out a video it below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Water Made Us feels like the most personal and vulnerable piece of art I’ve ever made. I love creating from source material, diving deep into a subject and extrapolating from what I discover,” Woods said in a statement. “We sat in the house for 2 years and I became my own source material. Shout out to the therapists, the astrologers, the family members and friends who listened, who helped me process and transform my journaled thoughts and questions into this body of work. I hope it feels like a playlist that carries you through the life cycle of a relationship, whatever stage of the journey your heart may be in.”

    “’Tiny Garden’ is a song about the way my heart works, the slow and steady way I love,” Woods explained. “In my directorial debut I wanted to create a visual representation of how I often feel in relationships, like I’m having huge feelings that I end up expressing in small specific ways.”

    Water Made Us Cover Artwork:

    Water Made Us Tracklist:

    1. Bugs
    2. Tiny Garden [feat. duendita]
    3. Practice [feat. Saba]
    4. Let the Cards Fall
    5. Send a Dove
    6. Wreckage Room
    7. Thermostat [feat. Peter CottonTale]
    8. Out of the Doldrums
    9. Wolfsheep
    10. I Miss All My Exes
    11. Backburner
    12. Libra Intuition
    13. Boomerang
    14. Still
    15. The Best Thing
    16. Good News
    17. Headfirst

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading