Laurel Halo Announces New Album ‘Atlas’, Shares New Single

    Laurel Halo has announced a new LP, Atlas, which is out September 22 via her new imprint Awend. The follow-up to 2018’s Raw Silk Uncut Wood is led by the single ‘Belleville’. Check it out below, along with the album cover, tracklist, and Halo’s upcoming tour dates.

    Halo began working on Atlas in 2020 as she reacquainted herself with the piano, writing and recording various sketches and improvisations. She then took up a residency at Ina-GRM Studios in Paris, where dubbed, stretched, and manipulated some of the material she’d recorded. Splitting her time between Berlin and London, she laid down additional guitar, violin, and vibraphone, as well as acoustic instrumentation from friends and collaborators including saxophonist Bendik Giske, violinist James Underwood, cellist Lucy Railton, and vocalist Coby Sey.

    Atlas Cover Artwork:

    Atlas Tracklist:

    1. Abandon
    2. Naked to the Light
    3. Late Night Drive
    4. Sick Eros
    5. Belleville
    6. Sweat, Tears of the Sea
    7. Atlas
    8. Reading the Air
    9. You Burn Me
    10. Earthbound

    Laurel Halo 2023 Tour Dates:

    Fri July 21 – New York, NY – Elsewhere *
    Sat July 22 – Chicago, IL – Smartbar *
    Fri Aug. 4 – Berlin, DE – Panorama Bar *
    Sat Aug. 5 – Brussels, BE – C12 *
    Sat Aug. 19 – Oslo, NE – Blå *
    Fri Aug. 25 – Lisbon, PT – Lux Fragil *
    Sat Aug. 26 – London, UK – Venue MOT *
    Thu Sep. 7 – Berlin, DE – Atonal +
    Fri Sep. 8 – Dublin, IE – Dublin National Hall +
    Sun Sep. 10 – London, UK – Barbican +
    Wed Sep. 13 – Amsterdam, NL – Muziekgebouw +
    Sat Sep. 16 – Bochum, DE – Ruhrtriennale +
    Fri Sep. 22 – Philadelphia, PA – Making Time Festival *
    Fri Nov. 3 – Iowa City, IA – FEaST Festival +
    Sun Nov. 5 – Chicago, IL – Bond Chapel +
    Wed Nov. 8 – Philadelphia, PA – Sanctuary of the First Unitarian Church +
    Thu Nov. 9 – New York, NY – (Le) Poisson Rouge +
    Sat Nov. 11 – New York, NY – Public Records *
    Sun Nov. 19 – Los Angeles, CA – Lodge Room +

    * = DJ set
    + = Laurel Halo presents Atlas Live

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading