James Murphy Joins Lol Tolhurst, Budgie, and Jacknife Lee on New Single ‘Los Angeles’

    Former Cure drummer Lol Tolhurst, ex-Siouxsie and the Banshees drummer Budgie, and producer Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee have enlisted LCD Soundsytem’s James Murphy for their debut single, ‘Los Angeles’. It’s the title track from the trio’s forthcoming album, which is set to arrive November 3 via Play It Again Sam. It features guest appearances from Primal Scream’s Bobby Gillespie, U2’s The Edge, Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock, Lonnie Holley, Mary Lattimore, Starcrawler’s Arrow de Wilde, and IDLES’ Mark Bowen. Listen to ‘Los Angeles’ and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

    Los Angeles started coming together after Budgie met Tolhurst for lunch while Budgie was passing through Los Angeles as part of John Grant’s touring band. “As we were finishing, Lol turns to me and says, ‘I think we should do something together’,” Budgie recalled. “With these things, I usually go away and forget, but for once in my life I said to myself, ‘Yeah good idea!’”

    The pair eventually recorded the album over two weeks with Lee in Topanga. “Lol is very levelling,” Budgie said. “He calls himself a pragmatist, whereas I’m very impetuous, and it was like Garret was bridging the two, in his consultation room.”

    Tolhurst added: “Adding some vocalists that we like was obviously going to make it more attractive to people, so over the space of about 18 months to two years, we got a whole bunch of them in, and as far as lyrics went, we just said, ‘You make something up!'”

    Los Angeles Cover Artwork:

    Los Angeles Tracklist:

    1. This Is What It Is (To Be Free) [with Bobby Gillespie]
    2. Los Angeles [with James Murphy]
    3. Uh Oh [with Arrow de Wilde and Mark Bowen (IDLES)]
    4. Ghosted At Home [with Bobby Gillespie]
    5. Train With No Station [with The Edge]
    6. Bodies [with Lonnie Holley and Mary Lattimore]
    7. Everything And Nothing
    8. Travel Channel [with Pam Amsterdam]
    9. Country of the Blind [with Bobby Gillespie]
    10. The Past (Being Eaten)
    11. We Got To Move [with Isaac Brock]
    12. Noche Oscura [with The Edge]
    13. Skins [with James Murphy]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading