Truth Club Announce New Album, Enlist Indigo De Souza for New Song ‘Exit Cycle’

    North Carolina band Truth Club have announced their sophomore LP, Running From the Chase, which lands October 6 via Double Double Whammy. The follow-up to 2019’s Not an Exit includes the previously shared song ‘Blue Eternal’, as well as a new single, ‘Exit Cycle’, which features Indigo De Souza. It comes with a music video directed by Alex Montenegro of Skirts. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “Like most of the other songs on Running From the Chase, ‘Exit Cycle’ had been kicking around in some form for a few years,” singer/guitarist Travis Harrington explained in a statement. “When we went to record the album, we had only just begun to conceptualize the vocal round and harmonies at the end. Yvonne and I compiled what we had written, and it didn’t feel complete. It needed another voice. Indigo has been a long time friend of mine, and I had always dreamed of getting to collaborate with her. Her voice has so much grace and power. I texted her and she happened to have just gotten back into town from a leg of shows and seemed happy to stop by the studio. I think she listened to the song maybe once, and then immediately got in front of the mic. It was a joy to watch her process. Suddenly, she landed on the arrangement you hear on the record, and Alex and I just froze, we looked at each other with the widest eyes like ‘This is it’ I think my jaw actually dropped.

    “This song will always be remarkable to me because, for the longest time, I didn’t think it would ever find a home with Truth Club,” Harrington added. “It has the most ambitious vocal arrangement we’ve ever attempted, and through this arrangement, I was finally able to collaborate with one of my oldest friends and constant sources of inspiration. The emotional path of the song parallels the journey of writing it: It begins in the most private and insular place, and finally grows into a joyfully collective outpour.”

    Running From the Chase Cover Artwork:

    Running From the Chase Tracklist:

    1. Suffer Debt
    2. Uh Oh
    3. Blue Eternal
    4. 77x
    5. Clover
    6. Exit Cycle
    7. Siphon
    8. Dancing Around My Tongue
    9. the chase
    10. Running From the Chase
    11. Break the Stones
    12. Is This Working?

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading