Wild Nothing Announce New Album ‘Hold’, Enlist Hatchie for New Single ‘Headlights On’

    Wild Nothing have announced their first new album in five years. Hold, the follow-up to 2018’s Indigo, is due to arrive on October 27 via Captured Tracks. It also marks Jack Tatum’s first self-produced LP since his 2010 debut Gemini. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Headlights On’, which was mixed by Jorge Elbrecht and features drum production by Beach Fossils’ Tommy Davidson and vocals from Hatchie’s Harriette Pilbeam. Nathan Castiel directed its accompanying video, which you can check out below.

    “This track was incredibly cathartic for me,” Tatum said of ‘Headlights On’ in a statement. “It’s a song about your relationship reaching its most brittle moment and still trying to find even the smallest open window that can lead you back to that person. Musically I was drawn towards something that felt very body centric and could help get me out of my own repetitive thought patterns. It’s a propulsive and hopeful track that’s meant to act as a release valve, but the somberness that inspired the song remains intact.”

    Mixed by Geoff Swan, Hold also features contributions from Molly Burch, Becca Mancari, and Tatum’s wife, Dana. “I’ve sat with this record for a very long time now, so naturally I’m both excited and apprehensive to let it see the light,” he added. “It’s my first record as a father. My first self-produced record since my debut. It’s a record that deals in existential themes but doesn’t always take itself too seriously. It’s not afraid of pop but it’s hopefully not afraid to be strange either. It has fun, gets sad, dwells in the quiet moments and embraces the loud ones. It’s me doing what I love and feeling grateful for it.”

    Hold Cover Artwork:

    Hold Tracklist:

    1. Headlights On
    2. Basement El Dorado
    3. The Bodybuilder
    4. Suburban Solutions
    5. Presidio
    6. Dial Tone
    7. Histrion
    8. Prima
    9. Alex
    10. Little Chaos
    11. Pulling Down The Moon (Before You)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading