Cat Power Announces Live Album ‘Cat Power Sings Dylan: The 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert’

    Last year, Cat Power delivered a song-for-song re-creation of Bob Dylan’s 1966 “Royal Albert Hall” set at Royal Albert Hall in London. Now, the artist otherwise known as Chan Marshall has announced she will be releasing a recording of the show on November 10 via Domino. Listen to her versions of ‘She Belongs to Me’ and ‘Ballad of a Thin Man’ below.

    “More than the work of any other songwriter, Dylan’s songs have spoken to me, and inspired me since i first began hearing them at 5 years old,” Marshall shared in a press release.

    Of ‘She Belongs To Me’, she added: “When singing ‘She Belongs To Me’ in the past, sometimes I turned it into a first-person narrative – ’I am an artist, I don’t look back.’ I really identified with it like that. But for the show at Royal Albert Hall, I, of course, sang it the way it was originally written – with the respect for the composition…and the great composer.”

    Commenting on her performance of ‘Ballad of a Thin Man’, Marshall said: “It was something impulsive. I wasn’t expecting the audience to recreate their part of the original show as well, but then I wanted to set the record straight – in a way, Dylan is a deity to all of us who write songs.”

    On November 6 and 7, Cat Power will perform her Bob Dylan set again at the Troubadour in Los Angeles.

    Cat Power Sings Dylan: The 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert Tracklist:

    1. She Belongs to Me
    2. Fourth Time Around
    3. Visions of Johanna
    4. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
    5. Desolation Row
    6. Just Like a Woman
    7. Mr. Tambourine Man
    8. Tell Me, Momma
    9. I Don’t Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
    10. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down
    11. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
    12. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
    13. One Too Many Mornings
    14. Ballad of a Thin Man
    15. Like a Rolling Stone

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading