Marika Hackman Announces New Album ‘Big Sigh’, Unveils New Song ‘Hanging’

    Marika Hackman has announced her fourth LP, Big Sigh, which is slated to arrive on January 12 via Chrysalis Records. The singer-songwriter produced the follow-up to 2019’s Any Human Friend with Sam Petts-Davies and longtime collaborator Charlie Andrew. It will include the previously shared track ‘No Caffeine’, as well as the new single ‘Hanging’. Check it out and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

    “‘Hanging’ is reflecting on a difficult past relationship and how you can trap yourself in a situation where you’re unable to grow into the next stage of your life,” Hackman explained in a press release. “The line ‘yeah you were a part of me, i’m so relieved it hurts’ is describing how painful it still is to break up even if it’s not right.”

    “I’d always produced on my records, but I’d never backed myself enough to actually say that I had,” she added. “I liked being a sponge and I saw the first two thirds of my career as a learning experience – I would sit back in a slightly deferential position to allow the dynamic to work. With this album I got to a point where I realised I’d done the learning, I knew what to do.”

    Big Sigh Cover Artwork:

    Big Sigh Tracklist:

    1. The Ground
    2. No Caffeine
    3. Big Sigh
    4. Blood
    5. Hanging
    6. The Lonely House
    7. Vitamins
    8. Slime
    9. Please Don’t Be So Kind
    10. The Yellow Mile

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading