Nailah Hunter Announces Debut Album ‘Lovegaze’, Shares New Single ‘Finding Mirrors’

    Los Angeles-based harpist and multi-instrumentalist Nailah Hunter has announced her debut LP, Lovegaze. It’s slated to arrive on January 12 via Fat Possum, and today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Finding Mirrors’. Check out its Dillon Howl–directed video below.

    “This song began with a bass line, which is not usually how I approach writing,” Hunter said of ‘Finding Mirrors’ in a statement. “Of all the tracks on the record, it is the most purposeful departure from the comfort I found in making ambient music in the past. Letting the song exist in the form that it came to me was a healing reminder that I can make anything I want to. The song is about seeing yourself without warning.”

    “While I was writing Lovegaze, I was thinking about humanity’s propensity to destroy the things we love,” Hunter explained. “I was thinking about ancient ruins and structures that once provided shelter but no longer do. There’s beauty to be found in ruins, too.”

    Lovegaze Cover Artwork:

    Lovegaze Tracklist:

    1. Strange Delights
    2. Through the Din
    3. Finding Mirrors
    4. 000
    5. Lovegaze
    6. Bleed
    7. Adorned
    8. Cloudbreath
    9. Garden
    10. Into the Sun


    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading