Grandaddy Announce First Album in 6 Years, Share Video for New Single ‘Watercooler’

    Grandaddy have announced a new studio album called Blu Wav. The follow-up to 2017’s Last Place is slated to arrive on February 16 via Dangerbird Records. It’s billed as the band’s “first foray into true country,” with Jason Lytle noting that “there’s an inordinate amount of pedal steel.” Today, the band has shared the lead single ‘Watercooler’. Check it out below and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Speaking about ‘Watercooler’, Lytle said in a press release: “Most of my relationships have involved girls who worked in office settings. This song is about the end of one, or perhaps a few, of those relationships. Listeners will also notice the pedal steel on this track and eventually on many others from the forthcoming new album. It’s a first for Grandaddy, and I couldn’t be more thrilled about this fact.”

    Earlier this year, Grandaddy celebrated the 20th anniversary of their breakthrough 2003 album, Sumday, with a new reissue featuring rarities and demos.

    Blu Wav Cover Artwork:

    Blu Wav Tracklist:

    1. Blu Wav
    2. Cabin in My Mind
    3. Long as I’m Not the One
    4. You’re Going to Be Fine and I’m Going to Hell
    5. Watercooler
    6. Let’s Put this Pinto on the Moon
    7. On a Train or Bus
    8. Jukebox App
    9. Yeehaw Ai in the Year 2025
    10. Ducky, Boris and Dart
    11. East Yosemite
    12. Nothin’ to Lose
    13. Blu Wav Buh Bye

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading