glass beach Announce New Album ‘plastic death’, Share New Song ‘rare animal’

    glass beach have announced plastic death, the follow-up to 2019’s the first glass beach album. It’s set to land on January 19, 2024 via Run For Cover Records. Today, the band has shared the new single ‘rare animal’, which will appear on the record alongside the previously unveiled ‘the CIA’, one of our Best New Songs. Check out ‘rare animal’ and find the LP’s cover art and tracklist below.

    plastic death was recorded in Los Angeles, engineered and mixed by frontperson J. McClendon and lead guitarist Layne Smith, and later mastered by Grammy-nominated producer Will Yip. “This album is the Pacific garbage patch, cultural trash strewn together seemingly by accident, standing in stark juxtaposition to each other,” McClendon explained in a press release, adding of their songwriting approach: “It shifted from trying to tell a story to trying to subtract everything but the emotion, whatever words get to the emotion.”

    plastic death Cover Artwork:

    plastic death Tracklist:

    1. coelacanth
    2. motions
    3. slip under the door
    4. guitar song
    5. rare animal
    6. cul de sac
    7. whalefall
    8. puppy
    9. the killer
    10. the CIA
    11. 200
    12. commatose
    13. abyss angel

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading