Mary Timony Announces New Album, Shares New Single ‘Dominoes’

    Mary Timony has announced her first solo album in 15 years: Untame the Tiger is due out February 23 via Merge. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new song ‘Dominoes’. Check it out along with the album details below.

    “This song was almost not on the record,” Timony said of ‘Dominoes’ in a statement. “We needed one last song, and I found a demo of it I had forgotten about at the last minute.”

    Untame the Tiger was produced by Timony, Joe Wong, and Dennis Kane, and features contributions from Chad Molter, David Christian, and Brian Betancourt. The record was made following the dissolution of a long-term relationship and bookended by the deaths of her father and mother; Timony served as their primary caregiver for two years, which she described as “the hardest thing I’ve been through. Every week I had to manage a new crisis.”

    She added: “Because I was making impossible decisions on behalf of my parents, creative choices now seemed more manageable. Since I had to confront the reality of loss, I realized what was important to me about being alive, and I became less scared. The record became my anchor in a time when I was losing so much around me. It felt like all I had — a guide that helped me through, and gave me hope.”

    Untame the Tiger Cover Artwork:

    Untame the Tiger Tracklist:

    1. No Thirds
    2. Summer
    3. Dominoes
    4. Looking for the Sun
    5. The Guest
    6. Don’t Disappear
    7. The Dream
    8. Untame the Tiger
    9. Not the Only One

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading