The Jesus and Mary Chain Announce New Album ‘Glasgow Eyes’, Share New Single

    The Jesus and Mary Chain have announced their next album, Glasgow Eyes, which is scheduled for release on March 8 via Fuzz Club. Check out the lead single ‘jamcod’ along with the LP’s cover and tracklist below.

    Glasgow Eyes, which follows 2017’s Damage and Joy, was recorded at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, with Jim and William Reid drawing inspiration from “Suicide and Kraftwerk and a fresh appreciation of the less disciplined attitudes found in jazz,” per a press release. “But don’t expect ‘the Mary Chain goes jazz,'” Jim Reid remarked. “People should expect a Jesus and Mary Chain record, and that’s certainly what Glasgow Eyes is. Our creative approach is remarkably the same as it was in 1984, just hit the studio and see what happens. We went in with a bunch of songs and let it take its course. There are no rules, you just do whatever it takes. And there’s a telepathy there – we are those weird not-quite twins that finish each other’s sentences.”

    Glasgow Eyes Cover Artwork:

    Glasgow Eyes Tracklist:

    1. Venal Joy
    2. American Born
    3. Mediterranean X Film
    4. jamcod
    5. Discotheque
    6. Pure Poor
    7. The Eagles and The Beatles
    8. Silver Strings
    9. Chemical Animal
    10. Second of June
    11. Girl 71
    12. Hey Lou Reid

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading