Gouge Away Announce New Album ‘Deep Sage’, Release New Song

    Gouge Away have announced their third LP, Deep Sage, which will drop on March 15 via Deathwish Inc. The follow-up to 2018’s Burnt Sugar is led by the single ‘Stuck in a Dream’, which comes with a video directed by Caleb Gowett. Check it out and find the album’s cover art and tracklist below.

    Deep Sage will include the May 2023 single ‘Idealized’. Gouge Away began writing the LP in 2019 and didn’t finish until March 2023, when they started recording it with Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden East, completely analog and almost entirely live.

    “Recording live and to tape creates an intense environment where we have no choice but to feed off each other’s energy,” the band’s Christina Michelle said in a statement. “We have to get it right in one take and if anyone messes up we all have to start over, so no one wants to be that guy. It adds an element of risk and excitement. We don’t want to sound beautifully polished or perfect anyway. We want to sound like the five of us being human, and no one is better than Jack Shirley when it comes to capturing what it feels like in the room.”

    Deep Sage Cover Artwork:

    Deep Sage Tracklist:

    1. Stuck in a Dream
    2. Maybe Blue
    3. Idealized
    4. Deep Sage
    5. A Welcome Change
    6. Overwatering
    7. No Release
    8. The Sharpening
    9. Spaced out
    10. Newtau
    11. Dallas

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading