Bruce Hornsby and yMusic Announce New Collaborative Album, Share New Song

    Bruce Hornsby and the chamber ensemble yMusic have announced a new collaborative album as BryhM. Deep Sea Vents is due for release on March 1 via Zappo Productions/Thirty Tigers. It was produced by Hornsby and yMusic’s Rob Moose and recorded in Williamsburg, Virginia, and New York. Check out the lead single ‘Deep Blue’ below.

    Speaking about the track, Hornsby said in a press release:

    In eighth grade we had a poetry section in English class, and Stephen Crane (“The Red Badge Of Courage”) was on the list. For some reason some of my friends and I thought two of his poems were a scream so we never forgot them, and I couldn’t get them out of my mind after creating this track so just started singing them- voilà. The rest fairly much wrote itself, and Rob and CJ took over from there. yMusic may be the funkiest, groovingest chamber group in all the land!

    Plus- I’m making my recorded debut as an electric sitarist on this piece- I have a limited range and not much ability, granted, but I feel it added a wry, exotic and soulful texture to the song, so why not?

    CJ Camerieri of yMusic added:

    Bruce started the writing process for “Deep Blue.” When he sent sketches our way, we immediately fell in love with the vibe, and got excited about how this song would fit on the album. We love stretching the limits of our ensemble, working to sound like many different kinds of groups without changing instrumentation, and “Deep Blue” presented a great opportunity on that front. We ended up using the bass clarinet in a bass guitar-ish role, the trumpet as a Roy Hargrove-inspired rhythmic element, and the strings to take it home with a feature that goes to wildly unexpected, virtuosic, and contemporary places.

    Deep Sea Vents Cover Artwork:

    Deep Sea Vents Tracklist:

    1. Wild Whaling Life
    2. (My) Theory Of Everything
    3. Platypus Wow
    4. Phase Change
    5. Foreign Sounds
    6. The Wake Of St Brendan
    7. Deep Blue
    8. The Baited Line
    9. Barber Booty
    10. Deep Sea Vents

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading