Devon Welsh Announces New Album, Releases New Song ‘You Can Do Anything’

    Devon Welsh, formerly of Majical Cloudz, has announced a new solo album titled Come With Me If You Want to Live. The follow-up to 2019’s True Love is slated to arrive on March 15 via American Dreams. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘You Can Do Anything’. Check out Jason Harvey’s video for it below, and scroll down for the LP’s cover and tracklist.

    “It’s a soundtrack for a film that doesn’t exist and probably shouldn’t exist,” Welsh said of  Come With Me If You Want to Live in a statement. “In that sense it’s a fantasy album. But a lot of the songs are personal fantasies, so it’s also something of a personal album. I hope it’s a fun album in the sense that it inspires your own personal action movie. So you could call it an action album. It would be fair to call it a pop album, in that I would be pleased if it were popular. It’s my album, but I want to give it to you. So it’s your album now.”

    “You should take the title both as an homage to The Terminator and also as me saying to you, ‘I want you to live’. So in that sense, the album is about living,” he added. “I am still alive.”

    Speaking about ‘You Can Do Anything’, Welsh commented: “I hope that as you listen to this song, you will feel what the title says. It’s the opening scene to the film, where we meet the protagonist in the midst of an explosive sequence full of melodrama and winks at the camera. If I constructed it correctly, the song should fill you with a sense of momentum and can-do attitude.”

    Come With Me If You Want to Live Cover Artwork:

    Come With Me If You Want to Live Tracklist:

    1. You Can Do Anything
    2. Stranger
    3. Fooled Again
    4. That’s What We Needed
    5. Heaven Deserves You
    6. Face To Face
    7. Brother
    8. Twenty Seven
    9. Best Laid Plans
    10. Before The Moon Was Full
    11. Sister
    12. Alone
    13. Come With Me If You Want To Live

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading