Villagers Announce New Album ‘That Golden Time’, Share New Single

    Villagers have announced their latest album, That Golden Time, with a video for the title track. The follow-up to 2021’s Fever Dreams is scheduled to arrive on May 10 via Domino. Below, check out the Rok Predin-directed video for ‘That Golden Time’ along with the album’s cover art and tracklist.

    “I wanted the warmth of the record reflected in its title,” Conor O’Brien explained in a statement. “The song also touches on a theme that keeps cropping up, of romanticism versus realism. How can you have aspirational ideas about yourself and the world around you, whilst being confronted with a harsh, cold reality? The friction interested me.”

    “For me, That Golden Time has an internalised voice, so much so that I almost found it impossible to let anyone else in,” he added. “It’s probably the most vulnerable album I’ve made. I played and recorded everything in my apartment, and finally, towards the end, invited people in.” The record features contributions from Dónal Lunny on bouzouki, American songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Peter Broderick on violin, and a group of musicians that O’Brien had first seen performing in a tribute to Ennio Morricone, adding soprano vocal, viola, and cello.

    That Golden Time Cover Artwork:

    That Golden Time Tracklist:

    1. Truly Alone
    2. First Responder
    3. I Want What I Don’t Need
    4. You Lucky One
    5. That Golden Time
    6. Keepsake
    7. Brother Hen
    8. No Drama
    9. Behind That Curtain
    10. Money On The Mind

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading