Wolf Parade’s Daniel Boeckner Announces Solo Album, Unveils New Song ‘Lose’

    Daniel Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Operators, Divine Fits, Handsome Furs) has announced his self-titled debut solo LP. Boeckner! was produced, engineered, and mixed by Randall Dunn at Circular Ruin in New York City and mastered by Heba Kadry in Brooklyn. It’s out March 15 on Sub Pop, and the new single ‘Lose’ is out today. Give it a listen below.

    Boeckner! features Matt Chamberlain on drums, Medicine’s Brad Laner (who contributed guitar and vocal arrangements), and Jeremy Gaudet of labelmates Kiwi Jr., who co-wrote the song ‘Dead Tourists’. “This record is like an autobiography—Atlas Strategic music concrete synth explosions, lush synth stuff from Operators, the noise guitar from Handsome Furs, drawing influence from everything from Stockhausen to Tom Waits all at the same time,” Boeckner said in a press release.

    Of working with Dunn, he added: “I’d been a fan of his forever, especially the Sunn0))) records he produced. Working with Randall really unlocked some suppressed musical urges, things that I enjoy in my private life but don’t normally weave into what I’m releasing—like occult synth, pseudo-metal, krautrock, and heavy psych influences.”

    Boeckner! Cover Artwork:

    Boeckner! Tracklist:

    1. Lose
    2. Ghost in the Mirror
    3. Wrong
    4. Don’t Worry Baby
    5. Dead Tourists
    6. Return to Life
    7. Euphoria
    8. Holy Is the Night

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading