Fabiana Palladino Announces Debut Album, Releases New Song

    Fabiana Palladino has announced her self-titled debut album, which is set for release on April 5 via Paul Institute and XL Recordings. The 10-track LP features contributions from Jai Paul, Rob Moose, drummer Steve Ferrone, and Palladino’s father and brother, bassists Pino and Rocco Palladino. Check out a video for the new single ‘Stay With Me Through the Night’ below, and scroll down for the album artwork and tracklist.

    Discussing the album, Palladino said in a statement:

    A central theme of the album is aloneness. Whether it’s a song where ’m searching for connection with someone else, or trying to embrace the aloneness, it tends to come back to me, who I am when I’m alone, what I feel when I really look inwards. I’d say it’s a pretty introspective record overall. The songs are often about trying to go deeper into yourself, exploring your true feelings and how they then relate to and affect your relationships with others.

    “Stay With Me Through The Night” is the first song I wrote for the album. It was at the end of a tricky period where I hadn’t written music for nearly two years, and it came out in a bit of a flood, I barely even remember where or how I wrote it, but I knew it was going to be an important song for me. It ended up being the centrepiece of the album, a song that encapsulates a lot of the feeling and emotion of the rest of the record and musically it brings old together with new, which became a theme across the record…a way of combining my influences with a modern perspective.

    Rhythmically the feeling of the song comes from funk and disco, I was thinking about the piano playing of Patrice Rushen and Michael McDonald, Chaka Khan’s ‘What Cha’ Gonna Do For Me’, Bernard Edwards bass playing on Chic’s ‘Good Times’, and The Bee Gees ‘Spirits Having Flown’ but we tried to take the track somewhere else in other aspects of the production to bring out the big feelings in the song. It situates us in the emotional world that I tried to create for the rest of the album.

    Fabiana Palladino Cover Artwork:

    Fabiana Palladino Tracklist:

    1. Closer
    2. Can You Look In The Mirror?
    3. I Can’t Dream Anymore
    4. Give Me A Sign
    5. I Care
    6. Stay With Me Through The Night
    7. Shoulda
    8. Deeper
    9. In The Fire
    10. Forever

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading