Mark Knopfler Announces New Album ‘Ahead of the Game’, Releases New Song

    Mark Knopfler has announced a new solo album, One Deep River, which will be released on April 12 via Blue Note/EMI. The first single, ‘Ahead of the Game’, is out today. Give it a listen and find the LP’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “Crossing the Tyne is always on your mind,” Knopfler said in a statement, referring to the river that runs through his childhood home city of Newcastle. “It’s what you were doing when you were leaving as a youngster and that feeling is always the same every time you do it. You’re heading out or you’re coming back, and it just connects with your childhood. The power of it doesn’t go away.”

    One Deep River Cover Artwork:

    One Deep River Tracklist:

    1. Two Pairs Of Hands
    2. Ahead Of The Game
    3. Smart Money
    4. Scavengers Yard
    5. Black Tie Jobs
    6. Tunnel 13
    7. Janine
    8. Watch Me Gone
    9. Sweeter Than The Rain
    10. Before My Train Comes
    11. This One’s Not Going To End Well
    12. One Deep River

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading