MELTS Announce New Album ‘Field Theory’, Share New Single ‘Figment’

    MELTS – the Dublin quartet made up of Robbie Brady, Hugh O’Reilly, Gaz Earle, and Eoin Kenny – have announced their second album, Field Theory, which is slated to arrive April 12 through Fuzz Club. The follow-up to 2022’s Maelstrom was recorded live to tape in Black Mountain Studios in the summer of 2023, with Gilla Band’s Daniel Fox producing. Check out a video for the lead single ‘Figment’ below.

    Discussing the album’s themes, the band said in a press release: “Like gravity we are drawn to and miss people and like light waves we love people and are loved. We live in orbits of each other, drawn by unseen forces. The album explores these forces, how we relate to each other, the people we live with and the people we live without. At the heart of Field Theory lies the realisation that we inhabit each other’s worlds as much as our own, through a field of wide-ranging forces, as important as the ones keeping the planets in place.”

    “’Figment’ is about the relationship we have with the world around us, filtered through our own imagination, shaped and coloured by how the individual see’s the world,” they added of the new single. “The difference between the concrete and imagined. The video for ‘Figment’ was shot by Irish filmmaker Andy Parkes and explores similar themes as the song – how the mind perceives the world subjectively based on key elements: time, emotion and distance from the person or event.”

    Field Theory Cover Artwork:

    Field Theory Tracklist:

    1. Figment
    2. Waves Of Wonder
    3. Clouded
    4. WLDNG
    5. Shelter Of The Shade
    6. Main Sequence
    7. Altered
    8. The Never
    9. Softly Breathes

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading