Jessica Pratt Announces New Album ‘Here in the Pitch’, Shares New Single ‘Life Is’

    Jessica Pratt has announced her fourth album, Here in the Pitch. The follow-up to 2019’s Quiet Signs is slated for release on May 3 via City Slang and Mexican Summer in the US. Lead single ‘Life Is’ arrives today with an accompanying video co-directed with Colby Droscher and shot around New York City in late 2023. Check it out and find the record’s cover art and tracklist below.

    “In a way, it’s kind of a false flag,” Patt said of ‘Life Is’, which opens the new album. “But I also feel like it’s a statement of intention.” She added, “Life came and went and you didn’t land where you thought you would. It’s the third act and you’re trying to climb back on the horse before it gets dark”.

    Pratt returned to Gary’s Electric Studio in Brooklyn to track the album, working with collaborators including multi-instrumentalist/engineer Al Carlson, keyboardist Matt McDermott, bassist Spencer Zahn, and percussionist Mauro Refosco. Ryley Walker, Peter Mudge, and Alex Goldberg also contributed to the LP.

    “I became obsessed with figures emblematic of the dark side of the Californian dream while making this record,” Pratt explained, noting, “I never wanted it to take this long. I’m just a real perfectionist. I was just trying to get the right feeling, and it takes a long time to do that.”

    Here in the Pitch Cover Artwork:

    Here in the Pitch Tracklist:

    1. Life Is
    2. Better Hate
    3. World on a String
    4. Get Your Head Out
    5. By Hook or by Crook
    6. Nowhere It Was
    7. Empires Never Know
    8. Glances
    9. The Last Year

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading