Vampire Weekend Release New Songs ‘Capricorn’ and ‘Gen-X Cops’

    As promised, Vampire Weekend have shared their first new songs in five years. ‘Capricorn’ and ‘Gen-X Cops’ are lifted from the band’s recently announced album Only God Was Above Us, and they come with music videos utilizing footage of New York in 1988 from Steven Siegel, the photographer whose image serves as the album cover. The ‘Capricorn’ clip was directed by Drew Pearce, while ‘Gen-X Cops’ was helmed by the band’s longtime creative director Nick Harwood. Ezra Koenig produced and wrote ‘Capricorn’ with Ariel Rechtshaid, and he co-produced ‘Gen-X Cops’ with Rechtshaid and Chris Tomson. Watch and listen below.

    Along with the new songs, Vampire Weekend have announced a North American tour running from April through October. Openers include LA LOM (aka the Los Angeles League of Musicians), the English Beat, Voodoo Glow Skulls, Mike Gordon, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Princess (featuring Maya Rudolph and Gretchen Lieberum), Cults, Mark Ronson (doing a DJ set), the Brothers Macklovitch, and a Billy Joel tribute band called Turnstiles.

    Only God Was Above Us arrives April 5 via Columbia.

    Vampire Weekend 2024 Tour Dates:

    Mon Apr 8 – Austin, TX – Moody Amphitheater (Solar Eclipse)
    Sat April 27 – New Orleans, LA – New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival*
    Fri May 10 – Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Block Party*
    Thu May 30 – Barcelona, Espana – Primavera Sound*
    Thu Jun 6 – Houston, TX – 713 Music Hall
    Fri Jun 7 – Irving, TX – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
    Sun Jun 9 – Phoenix, AZ – Arizona Financial Theatre
    Mon Jun 10 – San Diego, CA – Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre
    Wed Jun 12 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Bowl
    Sat Jun 15 – Berkeley, CA – The Greek Theatre at U.C. Berkeley
    Sun Jun 16 – Berkeley, CA – The Greek Theatre at U.C. Berkeley (Matinee Show)
    Tue Jun 18 – Burnaby, BC – Deer Lake Park
    Wed Jun 19 – Bend, OR – Hayden Homes Amphitheater
    Thu Jun 20 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
    Sat Jun 22 – Bonner, MT – KettleHouse Amphitheater
    Sun Jun 23 – Bonner, MT – KettleHouse Amphitheater (Matinee Show)
    Fri Jul 19 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
    Mon Jul 22 – Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theatre
    Tue Jul 23 – Lincoln, NE – Pinewood Bowl Theater^
    Thu Jul 25 – Maryland Heights, MO – Saint Louis Music Park
    Fri Jul 26 – Chicago, IL – Huntington Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island
    Sat Jul 27 – Chicago, IL – Huntington Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island
    Tue Jul 30 – Minneapolis, MN – The Armory
    Thu Aug 1 – Milwaukee, WI – BMO Pavilion
    Sat Aug 3 – St. Charles, IA – Hinterland*
    Thu Sep 19 – Cuyahoga Falls, OH – Blossom Music Center
    Fri Sep 20 – Cincinnati, OH – The ICON Festival Stage at Smale Park
    Sat Sep 21 – Indianapolis, IN – Everwise Amphitheater at White River State Park
    Mon Sep 23 – Rochester Hills, MI – Meadow Brook Amphitheatre
    Tue Sep 24 – Toronto, ON – Budweiser Stage
    Wed Sep 25 – Laval, QC – Place Bell
    Fri Sep 27 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
    Sat Sep 28 – Philadelphia, PA – TD Pavilion at The Mann
    Mon Sep 30 – Washington, DC – The Anthem
    Wed Oct 2 – Charlottesville, VA – Ting Pavilion
    Sat Oct 5 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
    Sun Oct 6 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden (Matinee Show)
    Tue Oct 8 – Wilmington, NC – Live Oak Bank Pavilion
    Wed Oct 9 – Raleigh, NC – Red Hat Amphitheater
    Fri Oct 11 – Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater
    Sat Oct 12 – Atlanta, GA – Cadence Bank Amphitheatre at Chastain Park
    Sun Oct 13 – Asheville, NC – Rabbit Rabbit
    Tue Oct 15 – St. Augustine, FL – St. Augustine Amphitheatre
    Thu Oct 17 – Austin, TX – Moody Center

    * Festival date

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading