Kelly Moran Announces New Album ‘Moves in the Field’, Unveils New Song

    Kelly Moran has announced a new LP called Moves in the Field, which is slated for release on March 29 via Warp. Following 2023’s Vesela EP, it marks the composer and pianist’s first album since 2018’s Ultraviolet. To mark the news, Moran has shared the new single ‘Butterfly Phase’. Check it out along with an album trailer below.

    “In early 2020, Yamaha loaned me a Disklavier player piano — a special instrument that allows you to record your performance for the piano to play back on its own,” Moran said in a press release. “I was initially working on a duet for myself and another pianist, but when the pandemic hit, the player piano became my duet partner.

    “I began writing a series of duets for myself and the Disklavier, exploring all the different ways I could utilize this instrument to merge its inhuman capabilities with my own playing,” she continued. “The Disklavier allowed me to record multiple layers of my playing so I could create music on the piano that would require more fingers or greater endurance than I physically have – like chords that had more than 10 notes in them, or chords that were spaced out farther than my hands could stretch. Sometimes I’d record a pattern and then speed it up to play back faster than I could ever physically play. My imagination exploded at all the possibilities this instrument allowed me to create, and these explorations culminated in my new record Moves in the Field.”

    Moves in the Field Cover Artwork:

    Moves in the Field Tracklist:

    1. Butterfly Phase
    2. Superhuman
    3. Don’t Trust Mirrors
    4. Dancer Polynomials
    5. Sodalis (II)
    6. Leitmotif
    7. It’s Okay to Disappear
    8. Hypno
    9. Moves in the Field
    10. Solar Flare

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading