Young Jesus Announces New Album ‘The Fool’, Shares New Songs

    Young Jesus has announced a new album, The Fool. The follow-up to 2022’s Shepherd Head is set to arrive on May 24 via Saddle Creek. Today’s announcement comes with the release of two new songs, lead single ‘Brenda & Diane’ and its companion track ‘Hollywood Ending’. Take a listen and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

    According to a press release, Young Jesus’ John Rossiter decided to quit music following the release of Shepherd Head to focus on gardening. “You know, when gardening, the right decision to make for the landscape is usually the one that is already happening,” he said. “It just takes time to read what that is.”

    After Shahzad Ismaily reached out to him over email, the musicians would improvise whenever they were in the same town, and Rossiter went on to record part of the album at Shahzad’s Figure 8 Studios in Brooklyn. He crafted the songs at home in Los Angeles, working with Alex Babbitt and Alex Lappin.

    Speaking about ‘Brenda & Diane’, Rossiter said in a statement:

    Brenda and Diane are on the run. The main character thinks he’s better than them. But sits down to talk to them, to humor them. Sees that they have a whole, complex life. Humbling for the main character and his sense of superiority and judgment. Brenda and Diane invite him into life.

    As with many of these songs, recording this tune mirrored the content of the song. Alex Lappin, the producer, really challenged me to craft a narrative with the vocal delivery. I was resistant because I like how I sing normally and I don’t like to deviate from my usual delivery– it makes me feel safe. Makes me feel detached.

    But we really worked on this one, and I felt I left my ego a bit. Was able, thanks to Alex, to find what the song needed rather than what I wanted.

    Of ‘Hollywood Ending’, he added:

    The best part of this tune is the strings. Alex Babbitt arranged the strings and his parents, Frank and Cornelia, played cello and violin on it. Around that time, Frank had become very sick.

    A couple months later, I was visiting family in Chicago over Thanksgiving. I went to the church I grew up going to with Alex and his brother Ben Babbitt. Ben played organ (pipes throughout the church!) and Alex and I sang, standing at opposite ends of the church. Improvising. We really grew into our voices in there, everything became so resonant, swirling. When we finished we knew we were present for something very special. We reached places vocally and emotionally that we don’t get to often. A few months later, Frank passed. This song is dedicated to the memory of Frank Babbitt.

    In December, Young Jesus’ ‘The Weasel’ featured on the soundtrack of Brit Marling and Zal Batmangli’s FX show Murder At the End of the World. Revisit our inspirations interview with Young Jesus.

    The Fool Cover Artwork:

    The Fool Tracklist:

    1. Brenda & Diane
    2. Two Brothers
    3. Rabbit
    4. Rich
    5. Moonlight
    6. MOTY
    7. The Weasel
    8. Am I The Only One?
    9. Sunrise
    10. Dancer
    11. God’s Plan


    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading