of Montreal Announce New Album ‘Lady on the Cusp’, Release New Song

    Of Montreal have announced a new album, Lady on the Cusp. The follow-up to 2022’s Freewave Lucifer f<ck f^ck f>ck will be released on May 17 through Polyvinyl Records. Lead single ‘Yung Hearts Bleed Free’ is out now alongside a video directed by Madeline Babuka Black. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    The new song was “influenced by the Leos Carax film ‘Boy Meets Girl’, Bootsy’s Rubber Band, and my recent purchase of a Yamaha TG33 and a Kawai K1M,” Kevin Barnes explained. “I wanted to make a strutting, sexy little vamp of a song that just kind of chugged along and felt relaxed and playful and free.”

    Madeline added: “There’s a certain 60’s/ experimental spirit to Barnes’ songwriting that I love and by using analog techniques of paper cut out and direct on film animation I pay homage to that. The paper cut out animations and color palette of the film were deeply inspired by Larry Jordan’s experimental animations, most notably his 1968 film Our Lady of the Sphere.”

    Lady on the Cusp Cover Artwork:

    Lady on the Cusp Tracklist:

    1. Music Hurts the Head
    2. 2 Depressed 2 Fuck
    3. Rude Girl on Rotation
    4. Yung Hearts Bleed Free
    5. Soporific Cell
    6. I Can Read Smoke
    7. PI$$ PI$$
    8. Sea Mines That Mr Gone
    9. Poetry Surf
    10. Genius in the Wind

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading