This is Lorelei Announces New Album ‘Box for Buddy, Box for Star’, Releases New Song

    This is Lorelei, the solo project of Water From Your Eyes’ Nate Amos, has announced a new album, Box for Buddy, Box for Star. It comes out June 14 via Double Double Whammy. Lead single ‘Dancing in the Club’ arrives with a music video directed by Joey Agresta. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    ‘Dancing in the Club’, Amos explained, is “a riff on the ‘playing the heel’ romantic fuck-up archetype — it was supposed to be a character study and I guess it is but it turns out the character was just me.”

    Though Amos has put out dozens of EPs and hundreds of songs as This is Lorelei, this is his first attempt at a traditional album. He elaborated:

    I had just finished a tour with Water From Your Eyes, during which I laid on the ground at Stonehenge for 40 minutes and decided to stop smoking weed. Initially, this album was just a challenge to make music without getting high, and I was worried I wouldn’t come up with anything at all. I isolated myself from pretty much everyone and wrote songs all summer. I was pretty broke and significantly depressed, but also in a sort of healthy mental demolition mode, trying to reimagine how I wanted to move forward with my life. For better or worse, what I made ended up being a delayed recovery album, largely dealing with more significant addictions that I kicked a year earlier.

    Box for Buddy, Box for Star Cover Artwork:

    Box for Buddy, Box for Star Tracklist:

    1. Angel’s Eye
    2. Perfect Hand
    3. I’m All Fucked Up
    4. Dancing in the Club
    5. My Boy Limbo
    6. Where’s Your Love Now
    7. Box for Buddy, Box for Star
    8. A Song That Sings About You
    9. Two Legs
    10. An Extra Beat for You and Me

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading