SeeYouSpaceCowboy Announce New Album ‘Coup De Gráce’, Share New Songs

    San Diego post-hardcore outfit SeeYouSpaceCowboy have announced the follow-up to 2021’s The Romance of Affliction. It’s called Coup De Gráce, and it lands on April 19 via Pure Noise Records. The 12-track LP includes the previously released singles ‘Chewing the Scenery’ and the nothing, nowhere collaboration ‘Rhythm and Rapture’, and they’ve now shared two new cuts, ‘Respite for a Tragic Tale’ (featuring iRis.EXE) and ‘Silhouettes in Motion’. They both come with a video from director Hannah Gray. Check it out below and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

    “This album was a chance for us to refine some of the melodic elements we had recently introduced to the band while also playing around with all things and bringing back reinvented version of past parts of our identity,” frontwoman Connie Sgarbossa explained in a statement. “The hope is that we made something that mixes the innate emotion of post-hardcore with the cathartic essence of dancing and allure of cabaret/burlesque in a package reflecting the tale of a city on fire and it’s all to tragic individuals and their indulgence and woes.”

    She added:

    The record started as a visual idea, because when it came to lyrics, I didn’t know what the fuck to write at first. I’m not a drug addict junkie anymore, so I’m not going to write another album like The Romance Of Affliction—I can’t, and I don’t want to. So my mind wandered to things that I love, like Frank Miller’s Sin City graphic novels, where there are all these stories interlaced within a city. That led me to think about noir and neo-noir, and then pulp comics and novels from the ’40s and ’50s, which started to make it all come together lyrically and thematically, where each different song can be a different tale of the city.”

    I hope that people can look at this as a complete expression—not just ‘Oh, this song has a good breakdown’, but at the whole story, the whole setting, the visuals of it all and the way the music all ties in. I hope they see the creativity of that and the risk we’ve taken by embedding Cowboy with more weirdo outside influences that you usually wouldn’t see from a band like us. It’s like a full, unified creative venture, and something we put a lot of work into, so I hope they appreciate the weirdness of it. I feel like a lot of times people hear clean singing and more melody from a heavy band and think they’re selling out. But no—we’re actually technically weirder on this record than we’ve ever been.

    Coup De Gráce Cover Artwork:

    Coup De Gráce Tracklist:

    1. Allow Us To Set The Scene
    2. Subtle Whispers To Take Your Breath Away
    3. And The Two Slipped Into Shadows
    4. Red Wine And Discontent
    5. Lubricant Like Kerosene [feat. Kim Dracula]
    6. Respite For A Tragic Tale [feat. iRis.EXE]
    7. Silhouettes In Motion
    8. To The Dance Floor For Shelter [feat. Courtney Laplante]
    9. Rhythm And Rapture [feat. nothing,nowhere.]
    10. Sister With a Gun
    11. Chewing The Scenery
    12. Curtain Call

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading