Marina Allen Announces New Album, Unveils New Song ‘Red Cloud’

    Marina Allen has announced her third album, Eight Pointed Star, which is set for release on June 7 via Fire. Lead single ‘Red Cloud’ is out now, alongside a video directed by Wes Anderson collaborator Eliel Ford. Check it out and find the album artwork, tracklist, and Allen’s upcoming tour dates below.

    “The imagery surrounding Nebraska has always been really vivid for me,” Allen said of the song in a statement. “My mom would tell me about how my grandma would ride a pony to school named Daisy. I guess it brought an awareness of how much the world has changed in such a short time, but it also really tripped me out as a kid. We’d be watching The Wizard Of Oz and I felt like Dorothy was my heritage. So much of your family narrative defines who you are, and so much of it isn’t true, or you hear it wrong, or you only pick up this one part, passed down by somebody else who only picked up one part. I wanted to play with that. I had all of these images swirling around me, with me at the center, and none of the sources were reliable.”

    Allen made Eight Pointed Star with producer Chris Cohen. “As much as you can have will and ambition, those things often get in the way of a fluidity to life, and where you’re supposed to be,” she added. “You can make yourself dizzy wanting to be somewhere you’re not. With Eight Pointed Star I’m trying to harness that beginner’s mind again, while having the scars and wisdom that come from biting into the fruits of knowledge.”

    Eight Pointed Star Cover :

    Eight Pointed Star Tracklist:

    1. I’m the Same
    2. Deep Fake
    3. Red Cloud
    4. Swinging Doors
    5. Bad Eye Opal
    6. Easy
    7. Love Comes Back
    8. Landlocked
    9. Between Seasons

    Marina Allen 2024 Tour Dates:

    Fri Apr 5 – Montreal, QC – Beanfield Theatre *
    Sat Apr 6 – Toronto, ON – Masonic Temple Concert Hall *
    Sun Apr 7 – Detroit, MI – El Club *
    Mon Apr 8 – Milwaukee, WI – Vivarium *
    Wed Apr 10 – Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line *
    Thu Apr 11 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall *
    Fri Apr 12 – Cleveland, OH – The Roxy at Mahalls *
    Sat Apr 13 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Smalls *
    Mon Apr 15 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club *
    Tue Apr 16 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer *
    Wed Apr 17 – Boston, MA – Royale Boston *
    Thu Apr 18 – New York, NY – Webster Hall *
    Fri Apr 19 – Norwalk, CT – District Music Hall *
    Sat Apr 20 – Woodstock, NY – Levon Helm Studio *
    Thu Jun 13 – Los Angeles, CA – Scribble
    Wed Jun 19 – New York, NY – Union Pool
    Fri Jun 21 – London, UK – The Slaughtered Lamb
    Mon Jun 24 – Stockholm, SE – Cirkus ^
    Tue Jun 25 – Oslo, NO – Sentrum Scene ^
    Wed Jun 26 – Copenhagen, DK – DR Koncerthuset ^
    Sat Jun 29 – Nijmegen, NL – De Vereeniging ^
    Sun Jun 30 – Groningen, NL – SPOT / De Oosterpoort ^

    * w Real Estate
    ^ w Ben Howard

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading