Nat Harvie Announces New Album ‘New Virginity’, Shares Song Featuring Low’s Alan Sparhawk

    Minneapolis-based singer-songwriter Nat Harvie has announced a new album, New Virginity, arriving June 7 via Boiled Records. Lead single ‘Red’ features Low’s Alan Sparhawk on guitar and vocals, Cole Pulice on saxophone, and production from Andrew Broder. Check out its accompanying video, shot and edited by Nik Nerburn, below.

    “Broder really understood what I was trying to do and helped me bring the weight and drama it needed,” Harvie said in a press release. They added, “Sparhawk and Cole’s contributions sound so tough and beautiful. I felt challenged and supported by my collaborators in the best way.”

    New Virginity also features contributions from Lala Lala, Merce Lemon, and Brent Penny. “There’s a magical realism to saying ‘I am a virgin again’ – it becomes true – this is the logic of the album,” Harvie commented. “What kind of person would I be if I never had to define anything about myself? How tough would it be if I had no claims to make about who or what I am?”

    New Virginity Cover Artwork:

    New Virginity Tracklist:

    1. Sun
    2. Shovel
    3. Cigapple
    4. Shugarboy [feat. Lala Lala and Brent Penny]
    5. Cheap
    6. Easy Song
    7. Red [feat. Alan Sparhawk]
    8. Weak Leg [feat. Merce Lemon]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading