Peggy Gou Announces Debut Album ‘I Hear You’, Shares New Single

    Peggy Gou has announced her debut album: I Hear You will be out June 7 via XL Recordings. Along with the previously released ‘(It Goes Like) Nanana’ and the Lenny Kravitz collaboration ‘I Believe in Love Again’, the LP includes the new single ‘1+1=11’. Check out its Olafur Eliasson-directed video below, and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

    I Hear You is more than just my debut album,” Gou said in a statement. “It embodies countless hours of dedication in my journey to create something timeless, and is a testament to the power of listening, to ourselves and to each other.”

    Commenting on the video, Eliasson shared:

    Dance is transformative! It bends and reshapes our relationship with time and space. When I was a teenager, breakdancing changed my life. I was into popping, moving like a robot, and doing the electric boogie. Street dance enabled me to explore the space of my body in relation to the world around me. I came to realise that by moving, I could change space. I could change what I saw and what I sensed. And these experiences actually proved foundational for my later artistic work.

    Sculpture and dance are both non-verbal languages. Sometimes in order to communicate, you simply have to move. That’s what happened when I first met Peggy. We were having lunch, talking about our shared interests in psychosonics, rhythm, and movement, and to show her the moves I was talking about, I stood up in the restaurant to dance. I was thrilled that she later asked me to dance on video for one of her upcoming releases and to develop the visual language for it. By bringing together dance – embodied exploration of space – with colourful shadows, lights, and mirrors, I was able to bring some of the key interests that have long shaped my art into an entirely new context. Working together has been rewarding and a lot of fun!

    I Hear You Cover Artwork:

    I Hear You Tracklist:

    1. Your Art
    2. Back To One
    3. I Believe In Love Again (with Lenny Kravitz)
    4. All That (feat. Villano Antillano)
    5. (It Goes Like) Nanana
    6. Lobster Telephone
    7. Seoulsi Peggygou (서울시페기구)
    8. I Go
    9. Purple Horizon
    10. 1+1=11

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading