Thou Announce New Album ‘Umbilical’, Share New Single

    Thou have announced a new album, Umbilical, which is set for release on May 31 via Sacred Bones. Following the Louisiana sludge metal band’s 2020 collaborative album with Emma Ruth Rundle, May Our Chambers Be Full, the LP is led by the single ‘I Feel Nothing When You Cry’. Check it out below.

    “They’ve called us anarchists, criminals, foreign meddlers, lunatics, dispossessed, relativists, utilitarians, egoists, passion maximizers, ascetics, negators of everything,” Thou said in a statement, continuing:

    Clearly, the “Thou” experiment is never going to appeal to audiences who demand that art rigorously enforce a coherent and righteous worldview.

    And yet, are we not ourselves constrained by our own rigid morality? In those quiet moments of deep contemplation, when the bargains and concessions are thoroughly examined, when we yield before the Judging Eye–what is the summation of our choices? If the unspoiled self beyond the immensity of time were given voice, what pronouncements would be made? What would such an internal audit yield? What undeniable character would be revealed?

    This record is for the radicals, the crackpots, the exiles who have escaped the wasteland of capitulation. This record is for the militants and zealots refusing to surrender to comforts, to practicalities, to thirty pieces of silver. And this record is most especially for the weaklings and malingerers, burdened by capricious indulgence, hunched by the deep wounds of compromise, shuffling in limp approximation, desperately reaching back towards integrity and conviction.

    Of ‘I Feel Nothing When You Cry’, the band added: “A throwaway mantra scraped from the necrotic skin of syndicated television. A lugubrious nod to our favorite commode-crooning diva, one of her most diabolically terse lines. With the sweet, sultry whispers of a legendary New Orleans faerie. This might be as close as we’ll get to a positive, youth crew anthem. ‘This song has nothing original or of value. It’s a steady beat for dancing feet. You got what you wanted, now say the words…’”

    Umbilical Cover Artwork:

    Umbilical Tracklist:

    1. Narcissist’s Prayer
    2. Emotional Terrorist
    3. Lonely Vigil
    4. House of Ideas
    5. I Feel Nothing When You Cry
    6. Unbidden Guest
    7. I Return as Chained and Bound to You
    8. The Promise
    9. Panic Stricken, I Flee
    10. Siege Perilous

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading