Menomena Release Surprise New EP ‘The Insulation’

    Menomena have returned with a surprise three-song EP called The Insulation. It marks the Portland art-rock band’s first new music since 2013’s ‘Toomer’, which was recorded during the same sessions as their 2012 album Moms. Each member takes lead vocals on a different track: Danny Seim sings the title track, Justin Harris sings ‘Copious’, and Brent Knopf handles ‘Caravan’. Take a listen below.

    The Insulation is also Menomena’s first project with Knopf since 2010’s Mines. In 2011, Knopf left the band to focus on Ramona Falls and then the duo El Vy with the National’s Matt Berninger, and Danny Seim went on to collaborate with different member of the National, drummer Bryan Devendorf, in the band Pfarmers. Harris has been playing bass in Bloc Party from 2015-2023.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading