The Bird Calls Announces New Album ‘Old Faithful’, Shares New Single

    The Bird Calls, the project of singer-songwriter Sam Sodomsky, has announced a new album called Old Faithful. The follow-up to last year’s home-recorded Exodus All Over is due for release on May 31 via Ruination Record Co. Listen to the LP’s title track below.

    Opening up about ‘Old Faithful’, Sodomsky said in a statement: “I was particularly inspired by the following quote from Nick Cave from his book with Sean O’Hagan, Faith, Hope and Carnage: ‘As I’ve gotten older, I have also come to see that maybe the search is the religious experience—the desire to believe and the longing for meaning, the moving toward the ineffable… Perhaps God is the search itself.’ I thought his logic could apply to both spiritual and romantic devotion, and that each requires a lot of patience and active attention. Today’s prayers are only good for today.”

    Produced with Nico Hedley and Ian Wayne, the new album features contributions from Jason Burger (Scree, Twain, Big Thief), Winston Cook-Wilson (Office Culture, Winston C.W.), Katie Battistoni (Katy the Kyng), Andy Cush (Garcia Peoples, Domestic Drafts), and Shaughnessy Jones (Trash Girl).

    Old Faithful Cover Artwork:

    Old Faithful Tracklist:

    1. Old Faithful
    2. Old Folks
    3. I Haven’t Been This Happy In A Long Time
    4. Going Insane
    5. Total Gunpowder
    6. Daisy Chain
    7. Pleasing Myself
    8. Footprints
    9. Home Advantage
    10. Faith People
    11. I Wish That We Could Fall In Love Again
    12. Worst Trip
    13. Metronome Song

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading