Arooj Aftab Announces New Album ‘Night Reign’, Shares Video for New Song

    Arooj Aftab has announced the follow-up to 2021’s Vulture Prince. It’s called Night Reign, and it comes out May 31 via Verve. Lead single ‘Raat Ki Rani’ is out today alongside a music video directed by actress Tessa Thompson and produced by Kishori Rajan. Check it out below, and scroll down for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    “‘Raat Ki Rani’ is about a person whose allure, magnetism, and charisma floats through a beautiful evening garden party,” Aftab explained in a statement.

    Last year, Aftab released a collaborative LP with Vijay Iyer and Shahzad Ismaily called Love in Exile. Iyer is one of the collaborators on Night Reign, along with James Francies, Cautious Clay, Kaki King, Maeve Gilchrist, Marc Anthony Thompson (Tessa Thompson’s father), Moor Mother, Joel Ross, and Chocolate Genius, Inc.

    In 2022, Aftab won a Grammy for Best Global Music Performance for her Vulture Prince track ‘Mohabbat’. Check out our Artist Spotlight interview with Arooj Aftab.

    Night Reign Tracklist:

    1. Aey Nehin
    2. Na Gul
    3. Autumn Leaves [feat. James Francies]
    4. Bolo Na [feat. Moor Mother, Joel Ross]
    5. Saaqi [feat. Vijay Iyer]
    6. Last Night (Reprise) [feat. Cautious Clay, Kaki King, Maeve Gilchrist]
    7. Raat Ki Rani
    8. Whiskey
    9. Zameen [feat. Chocolate Genius, Inc.]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading