Joe Goddard Announces New Album ‘Harmonics’, Shares New Song Featuring Barrie

    Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard has announced a new album, Harmonics, which is due for release on July 12 via Domino. The lead single, ‘Moments Die’, features Brooklyn singer-songwriter Barrie and comes with a video directed by Nathan Castiel. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “My new single ‘Moments Die’ features a beautiful vocal contribution from my friend Barrie which for me is a highlight of my forthcoming album,” Goddard said in a statement. “My words were inspired by John Berger’s book And Our Faces, My Heart, Brief as Photos.”

    Collaborators on the LP include Goddard’s Hot Chip bandmates Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle, e Jungle’s Tom McFarland, UK jazz musician Alabaster DePlume, Ibibio Sound Machine’s Eno Williams, UK rapper Oranje, former Wild Beasts frontman Hayden Thorpe, Bronx-raised singer Fiorious (on recent single ‘New World (Flow)’), and Guinean vocalist Falle Nioke.

    “With all the different people on this record, I’ve been working on how to respect the contribution they make and not trying to be the one who has to lead everything,” Goddard commented. “That follows through into the songs where I’m singing. I tried to write words without having too much of an idea of what I’m trying to express, where I’m just writing a stream of consciousness.”

    “Part of the reason why I wanted to call this Harmonics is that I was trying to create something very inclusive and empathetic, something harmonious,” he added. “There’s a lot of aggressive division in the world, and I wanted this to be loving, romantic – and fun.”

    Harmonics Cover Artwork:

    Harmonics Tracklist:

    1. Moments Die [feat. Barrie]
    2. Progress [feat. Ibibio Sound Machine]
    3. Destiny featuring Findia
    4. New World (Flow) [feat. Fiorious]
    5. When Love’s Out Of Fashion [feat. Oranje]
    6. Follow You
    7. On My Mind
    8. Summon [feat. Hayden Thorpe]
    9. When You Call [feat. Findia]
    10. Out At Night
    11. Mountains [feat. Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle]
    12. Ghosts [feat. Tom McFarland]
    13. Miles Away [feat. Falle Nioke]
    14. Revery [feat. Alabaster DePlume]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading