Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2024: Cher, Dave Matthews Band, and A Tribe Called Quest Among Inductees

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced the list of inductees for its 2024 class. Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & the Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, and A Tribe Called Quest made the cut out of the 15 nominees announced in February.

Alexis Korner, John Mayall, and Big Mama Thornton will receive this year’s Musical Influence Award, while the Musical Excellence Award will go to Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield. Longtime Motown executive Suzanne de Passe will get the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Cher, Kool & the Gang, Peter Frampton, and Foreigner are entering the Rock Hall after their first nominations. A Tribe Called Quest appeared on two prior ballots, in 2022 and 2023, while Dave Matthews Band and Mary J. Blige were in the running in 2020 and 2021, respectively.

Jimmy Buffet and MC5’s Wayne Kramer both passed away within the last year; Buffet was not on the ballot this year, and he had never been nominated before. The artists who were nominated for induction this year but did not make the final cut are Oasis, Sinéad O’Connor, Sade, Mariah Carey, and Eric B. & Rakim.

“Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving amalgam of sounds that impacts culture and moves generations,” John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a press statement. “This diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps.”

Konstantinos Pappis
Konstantinos Pappis
Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

Arts in one place.

All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

People are Reading