Open Mike Eagle’s Group Previous Industries Announce Debut Album ‘Service Merchandise’, Share New Song

    Previous Industries – the project of frequent collaborators Open Mike Eagle, Video Dave, and Still Rift – have announced their debut LP. Service Merchandise will be released on June 28 via Merge Records. To mark the announcement, the trio has shared the new single ‘Pliers’, following the already-released ‘Showbiz’ and ‘Braids’. Video Dave directed the song’s video, which pays homage to the “Show me the way to go” scene from Steven Spielberg’s Jaws. Check it out below.

    “This is a song about tension, pressure and using our tools,” Open Mike Eagle said of ‘Pliers’ in a statement. “It’s about the pressure of being middle-aged in rap, the pressure of sharing oneself in relationships and a high stack of yesterdays about to topple into tomorrow. It’s the sound of the fight to take a deep breath.”

    Service Merchandise Cover Artwork:

    Service Merchandise Tracklist:

    1. Showbiz
    2. Pliers
    3. Braids
    4. Roebuck
    5. Montgomery Ward
    6. White Hen
    7. Babbages
    8. Fotomat
    9. Dominick’s
    10. Zayre
    11. Kay Bee

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading