Staples Jr. Singers Announce First Album in Nearly 50 Years, Share New Song

    Staples Jr. Singers – the family gospel trio of siblings Edward Brown, R.C. Brown, and Annie Brown Caldwell – have announced their first new album in almost 50 years, Searching. Following their 1975 debut When Do We Get Paid, which was reissued by the Luaka Bop label in 2022, the LP is set for release on June 14. Check out the lead single ‘Lost in a World of Sin’, along with a trailer for the album, below.

    Searching was recorded by Ahmed Gallab, who performs as Sinkane, and engineered by Albert Di Fiore. The rhythm section is made up of R.C’s son Gary, his grandson Jaylin, and Edward’s son Troy. “The process was very easy,” Gallab said in a press release. “There’s nothing like a family bond/band. It was so special to watch how locked into each other everyone was. You can hear and feel that on this record.”

    “It was good to be able to go back and look back over our life,” Annie Brown Caldwell shared. “Some of the same songs that we had sung, those songs have a new meaning to me.”

    “I feel like I was able to witness part of this family’s continued story and legacy in real time,” Gallab added. “That was a very special thing to witness.”

    Searching Cover Artwork:

    Searching Tracklist:

    1. Living In This World Alone
    2. Lost In A World Of Sin
    3. You Got To Believe
    4. Walk Around Heaven
    5. I’ve Got A Feeling
    6. Don’t Need No Doctor
    7. I Don’t Need Nobody But You
    8. Get On Board

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading