Sen Morimoto Releases Surprise New EP ‘BONK!’

    Chicago artist Sen Morimoto has released a surprise new EP, BONK!, via City Slang/Sooper Records. It’s a collection of five outtakes from his 2023 LP Diagnosis, including a live from WXPN version of the title track. Listen to it below.

    “Tasked with creating a radio friendly version of the title track to Diagnosis, I wound up censoring the only expletive on the whole album with the sound of a frying pan (the kind you might hear in an episode of Tom & Jerry). BONK! (the cops, the banks, the legislature) is a collection of songs from the Diagnosis sessions that didn’t make the final track list. I think I needed to tour the record and get to understand the album in another context to finish these. The final track on the EP is a live take from our radio session at WXPN in Philly. What joy it brought me to finally belt “Fuck the cops, the banks, the legislature” on the radio. The live take features my touring band: Ryan Person, Kaina Castillo, Kurt Shelby and Elijah Bradford.”

    Check out our Artist Spotlight interview with Sen Morimoto.

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading