Martha Skye Murphy Announces Debut Album ‘Um’, Unveils New Single

    Martha Skye Murphy has announced her debut album, Um, which is set for release on June 14 via AD 93. To mark the news, Murphy has shared the new single ‘Pick Yourself Up’, which follows the Roy Montgomery-featuring ‘Need’. Check it out and find the album cover and tracklist below.

    “I wanted the album to feel like this constant tension between being in a very intimate domestic space, and then propelled into a far stranger environment that is difficult to situate,” Murphy explained in a statement. “I want people to feel disoriented, erotically charged by the intimacy of a bedroom, then catapulted into a desert.”

    “It’s taking a lot of the tenets of what I’ve been interested in before to another level,” Murphy added. “Having the scope of an album has meant I can push it all further, the wanting to take the listener on a journey, push endurance levels, and toy with the tensions between fictional and factual spaces.”

    Murphy co-produced Um with Ethan P. Flynn; the record was mixed by Marta Salogni and mastered by Heba Kadry. In addition to Roy Montgomery, it also features contributions from claire rousay, Dan English, Gentle Stranger, caroline’s Alex McKenzie, and Squid’s Laurie Nankivell.

    Um Cover Artwork:

    Um Tracklist:

    1. First Day
    2. Need [feat. Roy Montgomery]
    3. Pick Yourself Up
    4. Theme Parks
    5. Spray Can
    6. Call Me Back
    7. Kind
    8. The Words
    9. Dust Yourself Off
    10. IRL
    11. Forgive [feat. claire rousay]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading