The The Announce First New Album in 24 Years, Release Song

    Matt Johnson’s band The The are back with their first new album since 2000. The NakedSelf follow-up is called Ensoulment, and it’s scheduled for release on September 6. Check out the new single ‘Cognitive Dissident’ along with the album cover and tracklist below.

    Ensoulment was written and mixed at Johnson’s Studio Cinéola in London. The songs were then fleshed out at Real World Studios near Bath, where Johnson was joined by longtime bandmates James Eller (bass), DC Collard (keyboards), Earl Harvin (drums), and Barrie Cadogan (lead guitar). The record also marks the return of co-producer Warne Livesey and features additional performances from Gillian Glover (backing vocals), Terry Edwards (horns), Sonya Cullingford (fiddle), and Danny Cummings (percussion).

    Ensoulment Cover Artwork:

    Ensoulment Tracklist:

    1. Cognitive Dissident
    2. Some Days I Drink My Coffee by the Grave of William Blake
    3. Zen & the Art of Dating
    4. Kissing the Ring of POTUS
    5. Life After Life
    6. I Want to Wake Up With You
    7. Down by the Frozen River
    8. Risin’ Above the Need
    9. Linoleum Smooth to the Stockinged Foot
    10. Where Do We Go When We Die?
    11. I Hope You Remember (The Things I Can’t Forget)
    12. A Rainy Day in May

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading