Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘The Ascension’

    Sufjan Stevens has announced his long-awaited follow-up to Carrie & Lowell. His new album, comprised of 15 new songs and accompanied by a 16-page booklet of his drawings, is called The Ascension, and it’s set for release on September 25 via Asthmatic Kitty Records. Check out the cover art and tracklist below.

    The first preview of the album, the 12-minute ‘America’, will be unveiled on Friday (July 3). Though his first full solo album in five years, the singer-songwriter released a collaborative record with his stepfather, Lowell Brams, back in March called Aporia.

    The Ascension Cover Artwork:

    The Ascension Tracklist:

    1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
    2. Run Away With Me
    3. Video Game
    4. Lamentations
    5. Tell Me You Love Me
    6. Die Happy
    7. Ativan
    8. Ursa Major
    9. Landslide
    10. Gilgamesh
    11. Death Star
    12. Goodbye To All That
    13. Sugar
    14. The Ascension
    15. America

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading