Helena Deland Announces Debut Album ‘Someone New’, Unveils Title Track

Helena Deland has announced her debut full-length album, Someone New, out October 16 via Luminelle. The Montreal singer-songwriter has also unveiled the title track, alongside an accompanying music video directed by Xavier Bélanger-Dorval. Check it out below, and scroll for the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

“‘Someone New”’ is about the validation and relief from one’s internal world that a romantic encounter can offer, but also about becoming aware that there seems to be an expiry date on that type of opportunity for women,” Deland said in statement. “It ambivalently celebrates and condemns the idea of being in one’s ‘prime,’ as it is so rare that youth and self-understanding are simultaneous.”

Earlier in 2020, Deland released the track ‘Lylz’ from her upcoming album. In 2018, she put out four volumes in her Altogether Unaccompanied series.

Someone New Cover Artwork:

Someone New Tracklist:

1. Someone New
2. Truth Nugget
3. Dog
4. Fruit Pit
5. Pale
6. Comfort, Edge
7. The Walk Home
8. Seven Hours
9. Smoking at the Gas Station
10. Lylz
11. Mid-Practice
12. Clown Neutral
13. Fill the Rooms


This Week’s Best New Songs: Fleet Foxes, Sufjan Stevens, Kylie Minogue, clipping., and More

Throughout the week, we update our Best New Songs playlist with the new releases that caught our attention the most, be it a single leading up...

Watch Angel Olsen Cover ‘I’ll Be Seeing You’

Angel Olsen has shared a cover of the 1930s classic 'I'll Be Seeing You'. Check it out below. As Olsen notes in the video's description,...

BTS Announce New Album ‘BE (Deluxe Edition)’

BTS have announced a new album titled BE (Deluxe Edition). It's set to arrive on November 20. "The new album imparts a message of healing...


Left behind as The Earth Dies Screaming

Empty streets, deafening silence, and the feeling that it’s just too late to do anything; these are the pillars on which Terence Fisher constructs...

The Shape of Revenge: Revenge of the...

Since the release of Guillermo Del Toro’s The Shape of Water (2017), much has been said of its threads to Jack Arnold’s Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954). An...

Conversations with Frances Ha: The Intersection Between...

It might sound quite frivolous to compare two works of fiction based on the mere fact that their protagonists share the same name, but...

Like what you are reading?

All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.