Nana Adjoa Releases Album ‘Big Dreaming Ants’

    Nana Adjoa, an exciting Amsterdam-born singer-songwriter, has published her new album Big Dreaming Ants — just today. The album comes after several single releases including ‘I Want To Change,’ ‘No Room,’ and ‘Throw Stones,’ all of which are on the album.

    Talking about the first song of the album, ‘National Song,’ Adjoa stated: “Neo-nationalism is occurring all over the world… Our ‘nations’ and borders are no longer what they once were because of so many different and rapid changes in what used to be our small worlds. Growing pains of progress (I hope), which express themselves as a desire for conservative ideas rooted in a fear of change. Every occasion in which the old tradition of a national song is sung, it feels to me like a moment of doubt between the past and the future. It’s something I never used to think about twice and now makes me feel something different; there is something uneasy about it. The Dutch national song, ‘Het Wilhelmus’, is one of the oldest national anthems. Some countries don’t even have lyrics to their national anthem because there has already been a history of identity crises within the nation itself. Some countries don’t only have one, but two national songs, and some aren’t in the native tongue. What is this feeling of belonging to one nation worth nowadays, especially for people with mixed backgrounds like myself?”


    • National Song
    • Cardboard Castle
    • Throw Stones
    • No Room
    • In Lesser Light Pollution
    • Every Song
    • Love and Death
    • She’s Stronger
    • Who Do We Look To Now
    • I Want To Change

    Modestas Mankus
    Modestas Mankus
    Modestas is the Editor-in-Chief at Our Culture Mag. He regularly delves into modern art, fashion, and photography. Modestas is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading