The Hold Steady Announce New Album ‘Open Door Policy’, Share New Song

    The Hold Steady have announced a new album called Open Door Policy. It’s set for release on February 19, 2021 via the band’s Positive Jams label and Thirty Tigers. The band recorded the 11-track LP at the Clubhouse in Rhinebeck, New York with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin. They’ve also shared a new single titled ‘Family Farm’. Listen to it below, and check out the album’s cover artwork and tracklist.

    Open Door Policy was very much approached as an album vs. a collection of individual songs, and it feels like our most musically expansive record,” frontman Craig Finn explained in a statement. “This album was written and almost entirely recorded before the pandemic started, but the songs and stories explore power, wealth, mental health, technology, capitalism, consumerism, and survival–issues which have compounded in 2020.”

    Open Door Policy marks the band’s eighth studio album and the follow-up to 2019’s Thrashing Thru the Passion.

    Open Door Policy Cover Artwork:

    Open Door Policy Tracklist:

    1. The Feelers
    2. Spices
    3. Lanyards
    4. Family Farm
    5. Unpleasant Breakfast
    6. Heavy Covenant
    7. The Prior Procedure
    8. Riptown
    9. Me & Magdalena
    10. Hanover Camera
    11. Parade Days (digital only)

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading