Tom Morello Announces New Album, Covers AC/DC’s ‘Highway to Hell’ With Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder

    Tom Morello has released a cover of AC/DC’s ‘Highway to Hell’, featuring Bruce Springsteen and Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder. It’s set to appear on the Rage Against The Machine co-founder’s newly announced album, The Atlas Underground Fire, which arrives on October 15 via Mom + Pop. Listen to the cover below and scroll down for the record’s tracklist and cover art.

    “Our version of ‘Highway to Hell’ pays homage to AC/DC but with Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder, bringing this legendary song into the future,” Morello said in a press release. “One of the greatest rock’n’roll songs of all time sung by two of the greatest rock’n’roll singers of all time. And then I drop a shredding guitar solo. Thank you and good night.”

    In addition to Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder, The Atlas Underground Fire includes contributions from Bring Me the Horizon, phem, Damian Marley, Sama’ Abdulhadi, Mike Posner, Phantogram, Chris Stapleton, and more. The LP was recorded at Morello’s home studio in Los Angeles. “During lockdown I had no access to an engineer so I had to record all of the guitar parts on the voice memo of my phone,” he explained. “This seemed like an outrageous idea but it led to a freedom in creativity in that I could not overthink any of the guitar parts and just had to trust my instincts.”

    Morello added: “This record was a life raft in a difficult time that allowed me to find new ways of creating new global artistic connections that helped transform a time of fear and anxiety into one of musical expression and rocking jams.”

    In 2018, Morello released the album The Atlas Underground.

    The Atlas Underground Fire Cover Artwork:

    The Atlas Underground Fire Tracklist:

    1. Harlem Hellfighter
    2. Highway to Hell [feat. Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder]
    3. Let’s Get the Party Started [feat. Bring Me the Horizon]
    4. Driving to Texas [feat. Phantogram]
    5. The War Inside [feat. Chris Stapleton]
    6. Hold the Line [feat. Grandson]
    7. Naraka [feat. Mike Posner]
    8. The Achilles List [feat. Damian Marley]
    9. Night Witch [feat. Phem]
    10. Charmed I’m Sure [feat. Protohype]
    11. Save Our Souls [feat. Dennis Lyxzén]
    12. On the Shore of Eternity [feat. Sama’ Abdulhadi]

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading