Geese Announce Debut Album ‘Projector’, Share New Song ‘Low Era’

    Brooklyn’s Geese have announced their debut album: Projector arrives digitally October 20 via Partisan/Play It Again Sam, with a physical release to follow on December 3. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Low Era’, which follows previous single ‘Disco’ and comes with a music video directed by Fons Schiedon. Check it out and find the LP’s cover art and tracklist below.

    Projector was written, produced, and recorded by Geese while they were still in high school and was mixed by Dan Carey. The band said of the new single in a statement:

    We had been trying to get everything to sound super heavy, creepy crawly, and complicated, really because that’s all we knew how to do. Four-on-the-floor songs like ‘Low Era’ had felt a little like poison to us for a while, until we consciously tried to challenge ourselves to write something more danceable. Once we stopped enforcing certain boundaries, it ended up working out without us expecting it to, and even ushered in this psychedelic 3-D element that ends up appearing throughout the album.

    We like the idea of confusing the listener a little, and trying to make every song a counteraction to the last, pinballing between catchy and complicated, fast and slow. ‘Low Era’ is one end of that spectrum, and ultimately broadened the scope of songs we thought we could make.

    Projector Cover Artwork:

    Projector Tracklist:

    1. Rain Dance
    2. Low Era
    3. Fantasies / Survival
    4. First World Warrior
    5. Disco
    6. Projector
    7. Exploding House
    8. Bottle
    9. Opportunity is Knocking

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading