Tears for Fears Announce First New Album in 17 Years, Release Video for New Song

    Tears for Fears, the duo of Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith, have today announced their first album in 17 years. The Tipping Point arrives February 25 via Concord, and the LP’s title track is out now. Check out its accompanying Matt Mahurin-directed video below, and scroll down for the project’s cover art and tracklist.

    Of the album, which was originally set for release in 2017, Orzabal said in a statement: “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong. It took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well.”

    Smith added: “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.”

    For the new album, Tears for Fears teamed up with longtime collaborator Charlton Pettus, as well as producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter. “Suddenly, for the first time in a long time, we felt like we had someone in our corner who understood what we were trying to do,” Orzabal said. “We felt like we had somebody on our side. It was the first time in a long time that we decided – we have to do this.”

    Tears for Fears’ last album was 2004’s Everybody Loves a Happy Ending.

    The Tipping Point Cover Artwork:

    The Tipping Point Tracklist:

    1. No Small Thing
    2. The Tipping Point
    3. Long, Long, Long Time
    4. Break the Man
    5. My Demons
    6. Rivers of Mercy
    7. Please Be Happy
    8. Master Plan
    9. End of Night
    10. Stay
    11. Let It All Evolve [deluxe edition]
    12. Secret Location [deluxe edition]
    13. Shame (Cry Heaven) [deluxe edition]


    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading