Anaïs Mitchell Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Single ‘Bright Star’

    Anaïs Mitchell has announced her first solo album in a decade. The self-titled record was produced by Josh Kaufman and features contributions from Michael Lewis, JT Bates, Thomas Bartlett, and Aaron Dessner, as well as string and flute arrangements from Nico Muhly. It’s due out January 28 via BMG. Today, Mitchell has shared the lead single ‘Bright Star’, along with an accompanying visual. Check it out and find the album’s cover artwork and tracklist below.

    “During the first pandemic summer I was staying on the family farm where I grew up, in a little house that belonged to my grandparents when they were alive. I could see the stars for the first time in a long time,” Mitchell said in a statement. “I wasn’t traveling anywhere, or even doing much of anything, for the first time in a long time. ‘Bright Star’ is about looking back on years of restless pursuit and making peace with the source of that longing: the Muse, the Great Unknown, the One That Got Away — those things that motivate us that we never can touch.”

    Mitchell recently featured on Dessner and Justin Vernon’s second Big Red Machine album How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?

    Anaïs Mitchell Cover Artwork:

    Anaïs Mitchell Tracklist:

    1. Brooklyn Bridge
    2. Bright Star
    3. Revenant
    4. On Your Way (Felix Song)
    5. Real World
    6. Backroads
    7. Little Big Girl
    8. Now You Know
    9. The Words
    10. Watershed

    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis
    Konstantinos Pappis is a writer, journalist, and music editor at Our Culture. His work has also appeared in Pitchfork, GIGsoup, and other publications. He currently lives in Athens, Greece.

    Arts in one place.

    All of our content is free, if you would like to subscribe to our newsletter or even make a small donation, click the button below.

    People are Reading